The Apple Harvest

fruits

I have been missing from posting for a long time! We had a small leak under the kitchen sink that didn’t seem like that big of a deal. I called the insurance company out to give us an estimate and before I knew it, the kitchen cabinets were sitting outside and I could actually look through the boards of the sub-floor to the dirt under the house. AH!! It seems like most of the summer was spent in the kitchen remodel, but now I have a beautiful wood kitchen floor and new fresh counter-tops. I am amazed at how beautiful my kitchen is now, and it is a reminder of how sometimes good can come from something bad.

IMG_8577It is apple season here in Washington State.  We have apples on the trees, over the arbors, and in large boxes at the farmers markets,  A few weeks ago, I bought a mixed box of apples and brought them home to make applesauce. I am new to canning, and this is the first time I ever made it. I was surprised how simple it was!

apple collage   I looked on-line at all kinds of recipes, in the end I just peeled and cored the apples and put them in my crock-pot. I put some brown sugar and cinnamon in the apples with a little bit of lemon juice. I cooked them until they were soft, and adjusted the sugar and cinnamon to taste. The house was filled with the fragrant aroma of apples and cinnamon!  I then filled my hot jars with the sauce and processed them in a water bath canner for 15 minutes.

IMG_8579 a

On cold winter mornings, we now have home-made applesauce to top our toast and pancakes. Each jar is a tasteful reminder of the fruitful blessings.

Have you ever made applesauce, how do you make it?

Leave a comment