Should Christians Prepare?

IMG_7382 a

“In the house of the wise are stores of choice food and oil, but  a foolish man devours all he has.” 

Proverbs 21:20

“The horse is made ready for the day of battle, but victory rests with the Lord.” Proverbs 21:31

A prudent man sees danger and takes refuge, but the simple keep going and suffer for it.Proverbs 22:3

A generous man will himself be blessed, for he shares his food with the poor.” Proverbs 22:9

Sometimes when people talk about having a prepared pantry, or preparing for a rainy day, they will say something like, “As a Christian, I don’t worry about preparing; the Lord will provide, look at the birds, the Lord provides for them.”  I too count on the provision of God, and yet I go to work to earn an income.  I save for my retirement and the days when I am too old to work.  If I want organic pears in the winter, I  know the only way I will have that is to can the harvest from our old pear tree in September.  I give to others from the overflow, but I also put some back for the coming year ahead. It is simply the prudent thing to do!

IMG_7280I was catching up on my reading Proverbs this morning and I noticed two themes,the house of the wise store up, and the righteous man is generous and shares his food with the poor.  Many Christians are feeling an uneasiness in their spirit and are beginning to prepare through having a well stocked pantry and putting some food back. It wasn’t raining when Noah built the ark, and yet he worked diligently to prepare for his family and the animals on the earth.   As Christians we need to use our mind and our heart. We need to listen to the Spirits gentle and quiet whispers to us, we need to look at the whole Bible and not pick a scripture out of the context of the subject. Let us look at stories like Joseph and Noah, and may we prepare, but know in our heart that the victory will be from the Lord.

I want to welcome you to my new website called The Prepared Pantry. I hope to write balanced and practical tips and ideas for those who want to be wise in these times.

Blessings,

Linking up with Spiritual Sunday today!

2 thoughts on “Should Christians Prepare?

Leave a Reply

